Close

Twitter Wall

27/11/20

Elmer class have been busy making catapults in Science. We had great fun learning about how flexible certain materials are. https://t.co/umdT6vZJDQ

27/11/20

A fantastic voiceover in Dr Seuss class this morning. Future naturalists like David Attenborough ?! https://t.co/vf4s0D3gen

27/11/20

Super scientists in Dahl class enjoyed looking at the experiments yesterday, we tested different liquids, colour of light and plant food effects on plant growth! https://t.co/C0ZjZaL2pm

26/11/20

Kerr class working as team with their new sitting volleyball skills. https://t.co/FyCdLXjb1b

26/11/20

Kerr class preparing for the Paralympics, Sitting volleyball. Learning about different sports and inclusion https://t.co/7Yqv2kPeHI

26/11/20

Team Shakespeare were all smiles today in music, whilst comparing and contrasting two jazz pieces: Ian Gray’s ‘Bacharach Anorak’ and Jesper Lundfaard’s ‘Speaking My Peace’ We focussed particularly on the differentiation of tempo: Adagio, Andante, Moderator and Allegro. https://t.co/xo5iLCOmXI

26/11/20

Year 6 had an awesome time in PE today: we talked about regaining and retaining possession. We worked hard to find space; linking up with team mates to outwit opponents; practising control and accuracy. https://t.co/Bj4BC9n7NB

26/11/20

Elmer class have been developing their videoing skills. Today we pretended to be TV chefs and film our new cooking show. The children really enjoyed being in front of and behind the camera. In a few weeks we will become TV chefs for real! https://t.co/TsLd6yUqiu

26/11/20

Beautiful welcome cards from Year Six to their care home buddies as part of our Small Acts of Kindness project. These cards will light up the residents’ faces... https://t.co/Gdwa8rDNvk

26/11/20

This morning, Dr Seuss have been inspired by David Attenborough to write their own voiceover for a scene from ‘Here We Are’ by Oliver Jeffers. They’ve made an amazing start and we look forward to sharing these with you tomorrow! https://t.co/JlOvj05K8p

26/11/20

Dahl class gymnasts perfecting their routines before their performances this morning! https://t.co/vurvVRkpxd

24/11/20

Year six using freeze frames in PSHE to explore the concept of different types of power linked to bullying. https://t.co/pNUFIMsuZp

24/11/20

Wow! Fantastic examples of flight in Dr Seuss‘s gymnastics lesson this morning. Well done to this team for excellent communication and team work as well. https://t.co/1GhD3kYay1

24/11/20

Magnificent measuring in Potter class this morning. We have been learning to convert from metres and centimetres into centimetres. We measured each other’s heights and discussed our accuracy whilst getting outdoors! https://t.co/lANqSj6dTc

24/11/20

Kerr class making rain gauges to find out how much rain we have in Harpenden. https://t.co/9V5g0xCdLp

23/11/20

Thank you to our PE lead, Miss Harvey, for coming in to talk to Dr Seuss class about sportsmanship and fair play today. https://t.co/qRGukNPn3S

23/11/20

Inspired by Monet, Year 1 have been learning about tints and shades in Art. Today we created different shades of blue like in Monet's painting. https://t.co/PqyA8OajYo

23/11/20

Year 1 received a letter from the Christmas Elf asking for help. The Elves need to learn how to catch stars to put on top of our Christmas trees. Thankfully we have been reading the book 'How to catch a star' so planned how we could save the day with our instructions. https://t.co/VYo8tvzm3v

20/11/20

We still celebrate birthdays in the rain. Happy Birthday 🎂 https://t.co/XNt29MUNQx

20/11/20

Kerr class learning about the importance of treating everyone equally https://t.co/A6ejHtbNIm

20/11/20

This Anti-Bullying week, Potter class have made promises to ensure that we are https://t.co/L1rPpAhPrn

20/11/20

Oh no! A ghastly event has taken place in Year 2 Moomin class. Whilst the passengers aboard the Titanic were asleep the ship hit an iceberg! Women, children and some men in first class were saved but sadly had to watch the Captain, family and friends go down with the ship! https://t.co/kVkfvqWof9

20/11/20

It’s Anti-Bullying Week and Dr Seuss class have shown great maturity when discussing bullying and friendship issues. We thought about different types of bullying and their impact but focussed specifically on name-calling. https://t.co/VmQsi6UnT8

20/11/20

As part of anti bullying week Dahl class have discussed the different types of bullying and the effect it can have on the victims. https://t.co/u1OwZmZeYr

19/11/20

Kerr class getting huge hang of unison https://t.co/Jyu31EoEur

19/11/20

Shakespeare writers responding to a poem called ‘To this day’ by Shane Koyczan on bullying... https://t.co/c2whVVW0S6

19/11/20

This week Year 1 we have linked our learning about Anti-Bullying week to our English instructional writing. We have written instructions on how to be a good friend. We also heard a really catchy song about Anti-Bullying week! https://t.co/d29QvfMfVK

19/11/20

Kerr class creating gymnastics routines. There challenges was to move in unison. https://t.co/drPDRQDRQN

18/11/20

Celebrating anti-bullying week with circle time describing ‘a friend does not...’ and ‘a friend is not...’ lots of lovely links to our current class story Ella on the Outside which addresses some complex aspects of friendship and bullying. https://t.co/fEbk9NGWFf

17/11/20

Ssssh don’t tell Mrs Davies. Year 3 created lots of mess practising subtracting with renaming. One child said “This feels like a dojo treat!” https://t.co/63PkP9Et8P

17/11/20

Last week in dance Year Six dancers were introduced to the concept of canons and motifs. They incorporated them into their dance routines which were inspired by their history learning: the Foundling Hospital. https://t.co/3DjyAtacoT

17/11/20

Kerr class comparing Venice and London by describing the human and physical features https://t.co/sUDmhvDn84

17/11/20

Last week in dance Year Six dancers were introduced to the concept of canons and motifs. They incorporated them into their dance routines which were inspired by their history learning: the Foundling Hospital. https://t.co/2TBdXAqY8p

17/11/20

Wonderful anti-bullying dance routines in Year Six today thinking about the use of different groupings to vary the dynamic of the dance and portray different emotions linked to bullying and friendship. Excellent exploration. https://t.co/eSpWZwpke0

17/11/20

Elmer have been busy comparing and ordering numbers. Today we used the terms 'greater than' and 'less than' to compare 3 different numbers. We learnt about ordering from smallest to largest and largest to smallest. https://t.co/63XrBS4Cim

17/11/20

How many cubes (people) will it take to sink the boat (Titanic)? Year 1 brought their History learning to life through their Science with this exciting activity all about floating and sinking. https://t.co/GMWISB9YZr

17/11/20

Kerr class have been learning about the differences in physical and human features across the UK. https://t.co/yMtEqonDB7

16/11/20

Potter class are all in a pickle! In Computing we have been learning how to debug a program to make a pizza. We showed a lot of perseverance and had a lot of fun! Thanks https://t.co/IQyGI4d3By

16/11/20

In History Elmer pretended to be on board the Titanic. We each had a ticket which showed which class of passenger we were. Some of us were allowed to go on the lifeboats, others had to wait. Unfortunately, we ran out of lifeboats! We used our role play to write diary entries. https://t.co/phUEsNIwSP

16/11/20

Elmer enjoyed some practical Maths problem solving this morning. We had to put our thinking hats on and work out how many different ways we could score certain results. Super problem solving skills Year 1! https://t.co/HH8Su0xM7a

Ofsted Inspection Report

Ofsted Inspection Report June 2019

"The headteacher has high expectations and wants the very best for pupils. Her vision is shared by the school's other leaders. As a result, the school has improved greatly and is now on a clear upward trajectory."


"Relationships between pupils and the adults who work in the school are very strong. Staff know pupils well and this helps to make classrooms positive and welcoming environments, where pupils feel comfortable and ready to learn."


"The school's work to promote pupils' personal development and welfare is outstanding."


"Pupils have excellent attitudes to learning. They show a keen interest in the subjects that they learn about. For example, pupils willingly volunteer to answer teachers' questions, doing so competently and confidently."


"Pupils are confident and self-assured. They listen to each other, showing respect for each other's views, and managing discussions well. Pupils enjoy coming to school and appreciate the support that they receive from teachers."


"Pupils stated emphatically that there is no bullying at all at Harpenden Academy."


"Pupils behave well in lessons. They listen carefully and respond quickly to instructions. The school's rules are simple and easy to remember. They are reinforced frequently and even the very youngest children know the rules."

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×